Fever

image

It was one of those days. I had eaten a big wrap of amala and ewedu soup in the cafeteria. My roommates and I had gisted for hours about nothing in particular. I had also seen a two hour movie and I had slept off with my laptop still on. I think I was ready to see a second movie before sleep came and swept me off my feet. The day was going on well till I was awoken to the realization that . . .
     Everyone was panicking, something was coming. It was evident in the atmosphere that it was on its way. Everyone knew what was coming but we were afraid to face it. You see, it was always a scary experience but it was inevitable. I checked my wristwatch, time was running . I checked my calendar, days were flying. The whole world was beginning to hibernate. They must have heard the noise too. They knew it was coming, coming closer. It would take days to come but it’s footsteps were shaking the world right from now.
                    *                   *                    *
     Ahmed, one of my roommates was no longer his usual active self. He was always like that whenever it came. He was beginning to hibernate. He no longer slept in the room. He now slept in a room full of armour. Joshua, my second roommate was beginning to eat too much. He ate anything that came his way, anywhere. He always gave the excuse that he needed as much food as he could get. I agree he needed energy to face it but I doubt if he needed that much. Anyway, who was I to judge. Tolu my third roommate had a special way of getting prepared to face it. He spent so much time in Chapel. He always says that we need to fight it spiritually too. I quite agree with that view but I do not agree that it has to be that deep. It was also a physical battle. You needed to prepare physically too. I mean, I can touch it when it gets to me. I can see its footprints in the notice boards. It was more of physical but just needed a spiritual backup. For me, I was beginning to get unusually grouchy. That’s how I responded to the stress of preparing for battle. I was like a volcano ready to erupt on anyone that came my way.
                    *                     *                    *
     The usual brouhaha in school had subsided. School was no longer bubbling. Everyone was beginning to mind their own business. No more pranks, no more shows, no more nothing. People were beginning to clamour to stay in the armour room day and night. I really do not know if that helps but I think it did for some people. For some, well, they were just mimicking others. It was not as if staying in the armour room made the battle easier. Its footsteps were getting nearer. Every single person was beginning to feel it. Those that did not know now knew that it was on its way.
                    *                   *                     *
      Days and nights ran past me. I heard a knock on my door. It was finally here. Ahmed, Joshua, Tolu and I looked at ourselves. No one wanted to open the door. Not like it mattered because whichever way, it was going to still find its way into the room. It was inevitable as long as you were in this school and wanted to leave. I stood up and Joshua shook his head at me. I think he was not quite ready for this battle. Maybe I was ready, maybe I was not. I would never find out unless I tried to face it. I wore my shirt and trousers. I picked up ‘The Word’ and my armour, ‘My Books’ and then I opened the door to fight ‘My Exams’ standing infront of the door.

Posted by Nwadibia Chinwendu

4 thoughts on “Fever

  1. Reading the concluding paragraph brought a smile on my face. Wonderful piece here.This is about your second or third post where you personify ideas/events so well. And I’m beginning to think that the figure of speech, PERSONIFICATION, is, if relating to combat video games, your SPECIAL MOVE.

    Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment